Rhodesian Air Force Camouflage Schemes

Standard

The main scheme in the later years of the Rhodesian Bush war was very similar to RAF Dark Earth, Dark Green. This scheme could become patchy and faded in the intense sun of Central Africa. It will be noted that some Rhodesian rhaf[1] rhodesian-lynx.jpg.500x400[1]Para Daks were also painted in a very lighter scheme which was used to reduce the heat signature of the ageing Daks, so as to avoid SAM 7 (Strella) hand held anti aircraft missile systems.

Some Daks could also be seen the much darker Darl Earth Dark Green camouflage scheme and note the tails.051[1] Armed-lynx-on-display[1] cessna337overwing30calibermediummachinegunsandbombs[1] Lynx setting off[1]

See my early article of Fire Force and the schemes on the models.dak detail Rhodesian%20Air%20Force%20Dak%20Paradrop%20at%20Gorongoza%20en%20route%20John%20Reid-Roland[1] Rhodesian%20Air%20Force%20Dakotas%20strela%20mod%20from%20Peter%20Petter%20Bowyer[1]

3 thoughts on “Rhodesian Air Force Camouflage Schemes

  1. Ingo

    Hi,
    I wish I had some good interior photos of the Lynx aircraft in order to scratchbuild their layout & equipment…regarding seats removed and of course machine gun ammo arrangements. Or at least a desciption of how it looked. I have here Roden’s new Reims 337 Lynx in 1/32 to build but the kit lacks the peculiar Rhodesian AF changes.
    Ingo

  2. Ingo I have posted more photos of the Lynx and some where I do have a photo of the cabin looking through the front. Not sure how much detail. Will try and find it. I flew in Lynx at least twice and they had at lest four seats in place. In fact I flew one when the pilot allowed me too. All the way to Salisbury from Bulawayo and back. So duel control was still in place as well.

Leave a comment