RHODESIAN ARTILLERY AT UMTALI

Standard

I would like to thank Joug Jardine for these photos of the artillery positions near Umtali.

Some comments from members of RhA during this period.

426710_2957399786805_1717909933_n 11035546_10152777122778364_4422449583721732025_n doug jardine

David Alan Townsend Agree one of.the guns at the front facing Moz. Maybe No.1? If.so had.it in 1976 when Umtali got revved the first time. Had just changed guard when mortars and rockets came in from Moz. Guys were waiting for orders to retaliate.

David Townsend Looks like guns had own ghillie suits with the hessian tyre covers. Must have been winter “zut” green grass. Maybe still No.1 gun Impala. Early days sleeping bunker from where pic was taken. Blue gum poles covered with sand bags.

Doug Jardine Impala; No 1 Gun; The Verge Inn bunker.
Two fire missions I remember.

Steve Pearsoni was on both those fire missions – the one time we fired into Moz and the other time we had to do a 180 and fire over Umtali. cannot remember which gun i was on certainly not the one in the pic

Mike Peterson Were they not more like diamond or zig-zag?

John Boulter Mike that correct zig zag is like that but the guns at the rear not to deep, we were in a square, but not that a gun fired over the gun in front. The one ofthe gun , you can see the ammo bay to the right rear of the gun.

5 thoughts on “RHODESIAN ARTILLERY AT UMTALI

  1. Ashley Hodson

    My husband Leonard James Hodson was with the Rhodesian artillery mostly based in Umtali (I think – of all the 6 weeks in-6 weeks out.) We came to South Africa in 1980 with a young baby. He fought in the Rhodesian war proudly and survived only to be shot killed in the Drakensberg 7 years ago whilst he was closing shop by 4 guys who came into rob

    Please let me know if someone from the Rhodesian artillery remembers him?

    • Dear Ashley
      I was so sorry to hear of your loss and Leonard is well remembered
      This is from the facebook site :
      Depot – 1st Field Regiment RhA

      Brian Griffiths Yes. I remember a Len Hodson well from Artillery who used to make leather handbags whilst on call-up. He had a twin brother who was a school teacher. Before I left SA for NZ, this same Len was living at Cato Ridge. Met with him as his wife (can’t remember her name) many times in Durban. If this is the same Len then his passing is a real big lose to us all. A great guy and a great friend. RIP “Handbag” Len.

      Mike Brophy
      Mike Brophy served on quite a few camps with Len a gentleman in every way very sad to hear he has passed .May he rest in peace.

      Doug Jardine
      Doug Jardine I also did call ups with Len. Did some great leatherwork for me. A quiet, calm gentleman.
      So sorry to hear of his passing. Condolences to the family.
      RIP Len.

      Jennie Upton
      Jennie Upton I am so sorry, how awful. RIP.

      Albert Bondi
      Albert Bondi Len made me a leather belt with my name etched on it. Still have it.

      John Boulter
      John Boulter Do remember him, in fact did he not have something to do with the leather work in the bar at Umtali?

      Johan Badenhorst
      Johan Badenhorst I seem to remember him he made me a leather belt which I passed on to my grandson. I thought he came from marrendelas or was working for a factory in marrendelas
      L
      Johan Badenhorst
      Johan Badenhorst May he RIP and condolences to his family

    • Dave McIntosh
      Message posted by John Wynne Hopkins in Rhodesia Military:
      “Had a message from a lady in SA who mentions her husband who served in Rhodesian Artillery.
      My husband Leonard James Hodson was with the Rhodesian artillery mostly based in Umtali (I think – of all the 6 weeks in-6 weeks out.) We came to South Africa in 1980 with a young baby. He fought in the Rhodesian war proudly and survived only to be shot killed in the Drakensberg 7 years ago whilst he was closing shop by 4 guys who came into rob
      Please let me know if someone from the Rhodesian artillery remembers him?
      Please get back to me with any info and I will pass it on to her.
      All the best”
      I’m not sure of the wife’s name so she’ll Mrs Hodson for the time being.
      I served with Len on several call-ups in “Q” Battery (mainly in infantry role). He was a craftsman leather-worker. I had one of his covered watch straps.
      Really sad news to hear of his death in such awful circumstances.
      RIP Len.

Leave a comment